Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Starting a window cleaning business - Equipment you need, suppliers to use and trade organisations to join, etc.

How to price up a job?

Posted by tacleaning (T. A. Cleaning), 7 November 2003
Hi All,

Whats the best way to price up domestic and commercial window cleaning work?

Price per window?

Thanks.
Posted by Neil (wylie), 7 November 2003
Hi
I am new to this game so have been doing a lot of pricing up latley, I know how much I need to be earning to cover my costs such as diesel, insurance, and deepheat,(for my aching arms) add on how much my wife wants me to earn, a little bit for me. THEN GUESS!!!
Most of the time I seem to be about right, sometimes high sometimes low but after you have done a few you seem to get a feel for it.
I have leaned to NEVER ask how much there last w/c was charging coz they never tell you the truth and that then puts you in a difficult position. Do you, seem expensive by putting up the price, or say OK i will do it for that price and then kick yourself when you get back to the van?. Think of a number add a couple of quid and go for it they can only say no. besides when they see how good you are they know they are getting a good deal!!!!!

Posted by Majestic (Majestic), 7 November 2003
Another tip ,If someone comes out while you are cleaning a house and asks you if you can clean there windows , and then ask  how much will it be. Dont give them a price until you have had a look around the back as they could have more windows around the back than they do at the front ,  Cool
Posted by Bones (Bones), 7 November 2003
Wylie, I will admit that when I price up a job on a non average house (you know, semi, terraced, bungalow etc) I do ask what their last cleaner charged, and I always seem to be a couple of quid dearer and i still get the job   Huh Roll Eyes

Mikey
Bones,