Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Window Cleaning Issues - Canvassing, pole systems, pricing, problems, etc.

Anyone got or tried Laddermate?

Posted by Bones (Bones), 7 October 2003
Hi, as the slippery season is approaching us and other members are asking about slippery surfaces, i have been looking at ladder safety products.

I noticed a product called "LadderMate". I wondered if anyone has one of these or has used one. As far as i can see (not having tried one), it is going to give a lot of security and peace of mind of the ladders slipping from beneath you. I will paste the link for the Q's & A's page at the end of this post for you to read.

As i am still a newbie to the trade I though it would be a good idea to ask you guy's.

http://www.safetyfirsteurope.co.uk/laddertips.htm

Mikey
Posted by The_Fed_Man (The_Well_Fed_Man), 7 October 2003
Mikey,
The Fed have a ladder safety video, very good if you are thinking of joining Grin
I have a few, I use Stabilad probably the most. Also Microlite which stays fixed on the top of the ladder like a stand off bracket (so you don't have to refit) and has D wheels which compress to stop kick out.  But sometimes I don't want that.  The Stopper is also good but like many you have to remove the device then move the ladder then refit the device, slower but better than falling off!
In a jam use a damp swab (I use no2 scrim), a rubber bath mat also works well on shiny surfaces.
But the best thing to remember is 'IF IN DOUBT, DON'T'  Trust your instincts.
Posted by rsaxon7 (rsaxon7), 12 October 2003