Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Carpet Cleaning Issues - Carpet construction, upholstery cleaning, stain removal, equipment, events, etc.

January Gloom

Posted by paul_moss (paul_moss), 20 January 2004
Guys this is my first year in Carpet cleaning and I am finding Jan very slow.After speaking to local businesses they are saying the same.
Is it just my neck of the woods (North Wales) or are you guys finding this Jan harder than usual to get some work.

Paul
Posted by Dave_Lee (Dave_Lee), 20 January 2004
Paul,
It can be slow in Jan & Feb, this is where being fully established comes into its own. I Know its more difficult in the early years, but should get better each year for you. I myself have enjoyed a rest doing about 50% of normal, but am just starting my new year marketing campaign and expect very shortly to be at full ahead.
Just keep working at your own marketing - the more you get the stuff out and the quicker (Providing its good stuff of course) the faster you will get your year going, and then maintain the momentum for long lasting results.
Dave.
Dave
Thanks I wil take that onboard
Paul
Posted by Cloverleaf (Cloverleaf), 20 January 2004
Keep at it.

My first few years were the same.

This is my 4th year and I,m as busy now as before Christmas.

Do a good job and be proffessional.

Dont offer cheap prices to get extra work, it doesent work.

Look at other avenues of income to fill in the gaps which are cleaning related, It works for me.

John
John
You are right .I have just opened a car valet centre and it is slow but ticking over.Between the 2 it pays the bills.

Cheers mate
Paul
Posted by Phil_@_Deep_Clean (Phil_@_Deep_Clean), 20 January 2004
Paul,

Agree with all the other comments, my 1st couple of Jan/Feb were a nightmare, but like the others say it dose get much better as the years go by.

Phil
Posted by Dave_Parry (Dave Parry), 20 January 2004