Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Starting a window cleaning business - Equipment you need, suppliers to use and trade organisations to join, etc.

Which road to take?

Posted by JWT (JWT), 13 October 2003
SmileyHi Everyone

I have just discovered this bulletin board and read through many of the existing posts. They are great and seems like there are some really genuine and helpful members out there.

I am just starting out after having been made redundant and I need a bit of help with regards the best way to get going.
I responded to 2 ads in my local paper last week. I called the 1st one on the phone and he has 2 rounds for sale..one has 36 customers (all residential) generating £422 p/month and the other has 30 clients bringing in £560 p/m. The seller values the 2 rounds together at just short of £5000 and arrives at this figure by multiplying the monthly income from each round by 5. He says this is "the norm" in this business and that there is plenty of potential to expand each round and therefore feels this is good value for money. Can anyone please let me know if this is "the norm" for valuing the price of a round?

The 2nd ad that I responded to was a company in Essex who have sent me an info pack which I received at the weekend. In a nutshell they Guarantee the following.......income on your round, your round will grow at least 10% in first year, to provide advice & backup etc and that you will be successful.
The example round that they highlight in their info. is £500 p/week income to start at a price of.........£8000!!! You can have finance with them, if you want it, at £50p/w over 2 years if you come up with a £4000 initial deposit.
They state that typical earnings are £150/£180 per day and that you should earn around £20-£25p/h once you are familiar with your round "approx 4-6 months from start up".
It all sounds very interesting to say the least and I haven't spoken to them yet since receiving their info pack.