Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Carpet Cleaning Issues - Carpet construction, upholstery cleaning, stain removal, equipment, events, etc.

What is clean?

Posted by Derek (Derek Bolton), 22 December 2003
Following on from a post in another section of this Forum.....

I have been cleaning carpets and soft furnishings for thirty years...

In all that time no other cleaner (with one exception) has seen me at work... I (again with one exception) have never seen another cleaner at work.

Therefore I cannot compare my standard of cleaning with any other cleaner... I can only go on my gut instinct that an item is as clean as it can safely be cleaned.

I know many of the alleged top cleaners in the UK personally and I assume that they do a good job....but I have never seen their work.

Although we have Standard Procedures (IICRC) there is no actual standard of cleanliness other that the satisfaction of the client.

I am sure that you will all agree that the standards therefore can vary greatly.

I cannot see any way of changing this situation...can you?

Derek  
Posted by mike_halliday (mike_halliday), 22 December 2003
'what is clean?' I think of the word clean as I do the word pain Roll Eyes If I have a pain in my tooth I can take aspirin and the pain will still be there but because of the aspirin  I won't feel it,  BUT THE PAIN IS STILL THERE.  

The same goes for 'clean' I can use chemicals to make the dirt appear to go away, but it is still there.

CLEAN Free from dirt or contaminating matter ( The Oxford compact English Dictionary)

When I clean a carpet I use a softened freshwater rinse So I believe I leave the carpet in the most clean, free from foreign matter state possible.

I think a lot of carpet cleaners actully just swop the contaminants or cleverly hide them Wink

Mike
Posted by strakercleaning (strakercleaning), 22 December 2003
I know the carpet is CLEANER because of the colour of the waste water.................... Roll Eyes