Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

General Cleaning Issues - Floorcare, car valeting, buying and selling businesses, pricing, staffing, market research, etc.

Should I bother?

Posted by DomesticDiva (DomesticDiva), 7 February 2004
Newbie here and wondering if I should even bother to start researching setting up my own domestic cleaning company?

Any thoughts? The market seems to be saturated?

I am moving back to the UK from Oz in March 2004.
Posted by squeaky (squeaky), 7 February 2004
Its like I say to anuone wanting to start a new cleaning company "there is enough work out there for all of us but do not expect it to come to you,go out there and find it" I never worry about competition or new cleaning companies starting up, if your work is good and you give value for money you will always have work.
Posted by timeform (timeform), 10 February 2004
thats what you would think just lost a job 1 day per week clean the bill was £14 per clean  for 2 hrs work the client has got a cheaper price
Posted by April_Fresh (April_Fresh), 10 February 2004
Hi Newbie

Best bit of advise I would give anyone is:
Always give a realistic price that is going to give a reasonable profit, otherwise the domestic market is going to end up like the commercial market.

Company's quoting silly prices that leave a tiny bit or no profit at all, then find they can't even afford Insurance!! Undecided

Sharon

Posted by kcs (Marbles), 10 February 2004
Timeform

Does SW know your doing this moonlighting!!!! (he! he!)I would have charged a minimum £19.00 for the 2 hours.

Cheers!!
Andrew
Posted by keybrite (keybrite), 10 February 2004
I also charge a minimum of £20.00 per visit for 2 hrs, have also lost the odd job to a cheaper cleaner, but it has not hurt us we still have a good client base with new jobs coming in by recommendation.. we are the best cleaning team around here..
Posted by DomesticDiva (DomesticDiva), 11 February 2004
Thanks so much for your input, keep them coming.