Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Carpet Cleaning Issues - Carpet construction, upholstery cleaning, stain removal, equipment, events, etc.

Problems with rugs cleaned by Chemdry

Posted by Alan_Harrison (Alan_Harrison), 29 September 2003
I don't want to tread on anyones toes here and I hope not to cause offense.

I've been cleaning oriental rugs for about 15 years now. The cleaning is an aditional service offered to the customers of my Oriental Rug retail business. I have been trading for over 20 years and have built up sound reputation over quite a wide area. Probably because I am regarded as the " oriental rug expert " I am sometimes asked by customers who have not used our services, to arbitrate in disputes when cleaning jobs have not come up to thier expectations. I'm wise enough not to enter into any arguments and usually offer to try and correct the problem free of charge (povided they're not to bolshie). Now comes the embarassing bit...... 9 time out of 10 the complaint comes from the same cleaning system, namely Chemdry! Now I don't know anything about Chemdry. I don't know the state of the rugs before the Chemdry process and I don't believe that any one Chemdry agent is the source. The rugs invariably clean up easily and the client goes away happy.

Does anyone know about the Chemdry system? Why do they keep croping up?

It raises an important issue about customer satisfaction and feedback. Does anyone follow up jobs with a satisfaction survey? It might be a good opportunity to tout for more business.

Posted by Derek (Derek Bolton), 30 September 2003
Hi

Chem-dry are unique! They have their own way of doing things and are very protective of their chemicals, machines, methods etc.

Their marketing is excellent and they single handedly helped the industry raise its prices some years ago when they emerged as a soft furnishing cleaning force.