Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Window Cleaning Issues - Canvassing, pole systems, pricing, problems, etc.

slippery surfaces

Posted by craig (craig), 1 October 2003
i'm new to the game and was wondering if anyone could advise me on what they do when the ground is slippery or frosty etc. what do you use to stop your ladder feet from slipping? i'm only doing residential work at present but i don't want to come a cropper when i'm high up on the ladder. any advice would be appreciated.
craig Wink
Posted by STEVE71163 (Steve Lowe), 1 October 2003
Hi Craig,
           You can get something called a Rojak stopper from the NFMWGC and i think they are about £33 + vat which makes it a bit safer but if i had the slightest doubt about any surface i was putting my ladder on i would not do that window. Your life and welfare is worth more than taking any risks! Also the Federation do a video on health and safety with ladders and i would consider that a good investment.

Hope this helps Grin

Steve Lowe
Posted by craig (craig), 1 October 2003
thanks steve, i appreciate your advice. there's some great advice on this site and the fact that everyone is only too pleased to help is refreshing. thanks again
craig
Posted by classic (classic), 1 October 2003
best advice ,is if in doubt-dont!!!
but also as a general safety back up i use articulating rubber feet fitted to the bottom of all my  ladders  these have studded rubber feet like football boots,for extra reassurance   bought them from lansford accsess, Bristol
,also a good supplier of laddersl
Posted by steve_massey (steve_massey), 2 October 2003
When i'm using a ladder on slippy paths i put a damp cloth under the feet of the ladder. the cloth seems to suck to the floor beacause its damp and the feet of the ladder grip to the cloth.
Posted by STEVE71163 (Steve Lowe), 3 October 2003