Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Starting a window cleaning business - Equipment you need, suppliers to use and trade organisations to join, etc.

£30 per hour for 1 person - is this true?

Posted by Central (Central), 25 September 2003
I have heard on a few occasions that people do £30 per hour window cleaning.  Ive been doing this for about 9 months and average about £15 per hour on my own and £30 per hour when two of us work (he's been cleaning windows for about 5 years.

Do people really earn £30 per hour and if so how?  Do they charge a lot per house or what?  I charge as much as I can and I know I couldn't get any more from the houses I currently have.  

Has any one got any advice or are the people who say they earn £30 per hour exaggerating?

Look forward to any comments
Posted by STEVE71163 (Steve Lowe), 25 September 2003
Hi Central,
              Yes you can earn £30 an hour window cleaning but it tends to go up and down depending on what jobs you are doing Huh It also depends on what end of the country you live in as i live in the South East where prices are probably higher than North ( Mind you the cost of living is different also Sad )

Steve Lowe
Posted by Central (Central), 25 September 2003
Yes I suppose that is true.  I have earnt around £30 per hour on things like gutters but as a rule it tends to be around £15 per hour average over the week.

I live in the midlands, is it just the window cleaners down south that can make £30 an hour or does any one know of anything which could effectively doublew my work rate?
Posted by DerekW (Derek Whittle), 25 September 2003
Yes I do, if you had the right equipment you could make 50k per year as I do.  I bought the package from www.hydrotech.org.uk  it's absolutely superb. you can clean anything and charge accordingly.  Cheers,
Hi Derek
           I thought you were hydrotech uk Huh  Grin

Steve Lowe
Posted by Mike_Boxall (Mike_Boxall), 25 September 2003
Hi Central