Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

General Cleaning Issues - Floorcare, car valeting, buying and selling businesses, pricing, staffing, market research, etc.

Help with office cleaning quote

Posted by camlewis (camlewis), 12 January 2004
Hi Everyone!

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL!

I work as a PA in a small office in mayfair......the current cleaning company are appauling but they are one of the staff's cousins. We have complained time and time again and now we have decided to end the contract. I have offered to take over the cleaning of our offices but I am not sure how much to charge. I know that the current company charge only £200 pcm which frankly shows when you see the state of the office! I thought that maybe £15 per unit (1 unit is the bathroom and 1 is one of the office floors) would be okay - the office needs to be done twice a week and I would supply all of the materials....am I on the right track?

Thanks

Claire  Undecided
Posted by Mike_Boxall (Mike_Boxall), 14 January 2004
Hi Claire

Sorry no-one has replied yet.

Have you estimated how many hours work is involved? Does £15 per unit work out at £200 per month?

There are no hard and fast rules about pricing it's all about what you think your time is worth and what your customer is prepared to pay. I would have thought that a Mayfair based company would expect high standards and therefore be prepared to pay premuim rates.

Most people undervalue thier time until they realise all the hidden costs (will you be employing anyone else to help you?) The cost of ongoing materials shouldn't be a great deal (particularly if you buy them from us  Grin) but dont underestimate the cost of the equipment to get you going in the first place (will you have to buy vacuum cleaner(s), mopping equipment etc?)

Regards

Mike
Posted by petra (petra), 14 January 2004