Get listed in the Spick and Span Directory

Carpet Cleaning Issues - Carpet construction, upholstery cleaning, stain removal, equipment, events, etc.

advice please

Posted by sweetalkingdevil (sweetalkingdevil), 30 January 2004
Hi, just been reading through this very helpful website. I am amazed to see how helpful people are on here to new people starting up, they are after all potential competition. However, seeings that things here all seem to be quite helpful, i was wondering if those more experienced in these matters would be able to give me some advice. I am by trade an antiques restorer and  i am thinking of adding a sideline into my business of upholstery cleaning and stain gaurding fabric for my existing and future costomers. I am not interested in commercial carpet cleaning and such like. Firstly, could anyone recomend the sort of machinery i should look to get for this type of work? Secondly, and as i am not familiar with the problems that can arise in this type of work, would it be worth taking one of the courses such as those offered by pro-chem? any advice greatly appreciated. If anyone needs advice re; furniture restoration, polishing etc. then i am happy to oblige.
kind regards.
Posted by Derek (Derek Bolton), 30 January 2004
Hi Sweet talker

My wife will kill me if she sees me starting a post like this.... you are likely to get us all into trouble using a pseudonym like that. Wink  Grin

May I suggest that you book onto the NCCA training course at Leicester in February (see dates on post re NCCA Training)

Contact the NCCA Tel: 0116 2719550

Paul, one of the trainers, has a wealth of experience which may help you.

With antique items it's not just the wide variety of fabrics that you have to contend with but the multitude of stuffers and fillers inside, many of which can bleed wonderfully.

Hope this helps
Derek
Posted by gwrightson (gwrightson), 30 January 2004
well i recently discovered a great way to remove heat marks from polished tables